birthday · God · mama · Personal · Relationships ♥

Mama and Mimosa Pudica



Okay, I haven’t started this entry yet but my tears are officially running through my cheeks. Sweet. I wish the hubby is still awake right now to comfort me. Apparently, he’s so much asleep that just half a second ago, he asked me about some sort of pipe getting through something (which I didn’t really understand), with his eyes still closed. Haha. Now that’s cute. It made me kiss him twice. Talking about perks! 😀

My mom (I call her Mama),  celebrated her 48th birthday today. Yes, she’s only 19 years older than me! She may not be the “coolest” mom on earth but she’s definitely not out of our league. She has taught us, me and my sibs, everything we have to know in life. From waking up early when we were still kids to cleaning our own mess when we entered puberty to helping me understand that as a woman, I play a unique role in my marriage. Isn’t that pretty much cooler than being “cool”? 

Growing up, I have always envisioned myself to become like her one day. Mama is an epitome of “mimosa pudica”, in tagalog, “makahiya”. It is a very sensitive tiny plant that closes herself when touched. Scientifically, it’s the plant’s way to protect herself from any harm around her.  

Mama can be very shy at times but she knows when and where to speak for herself. Her incomparable humility outshines her weaknesses. She is a woman of faith. An almost-perfect wife to our father. The ever-open-arms to us her children. And mostly, a salt to the world just as God wants her to be. 

Her lips speak of sweetness and fragrance. Her eyes see greatness in things. Her nose breathes purity.  Her ears hear truth. Her hands always fit together to pray. 


“For you created my inmost being;

    you knit me together<span class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-NIV-16253B" data-link="(B)” style=”box-sizing: border-box; font-size: 0.625em; font-size: 0.625em; line-height: 22px; position: relative; top: 0px; vertical-align: top;”> in my mother’s womb.” -Psalm 139:13






Leave a Reply

