Death · God · Life · Personal · Salvation

Celebrating Life, Embracing Death

Our cousin who’s also my godchild passed away early this morning. I learned this through a text message from my aunt who spent for Agatha’s medication when she was diagnosed with leukemia. Agatha started feeling unwell when my grandfather died of lung cancer in 2013. It was an unpleasant sight to see her suffering from the pain the series of blood transfusion has caused her. Every time we hold her, she would cry as if her skin would fall off when touched. Her eyes had no room for tears. They were marked by bruises making it hard for her to open them. Her body was like a clay pot slowly melting under the heat of the sun. She smelled like vanilla syrup alcohol. She had a breath of young-corn. She madly liked chocolates and doughnuts. I died watching her this way.
Many of us, myself included, are afraid of death. In discussions, we choose to refuse injecting any story related to it because we believe that it’s not proper to speak about dying when we are so much healthy. It’s very usual to feel offended when someone brings “death” to a certain conversation, especially when the topic centers about the idea of being alive. When we speak of “death”, what immediately comes up to us is the idea of sorrow, grief, pain, and loss.

The Bible says in John 14: 14-4..

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”
Isn’t it the irony of what we feel? This is one of God’s promises to us as his children. Death has been a constant reminder to us that life on earth is not what God has prepared us for. It is the life after the “life” we used to know — the life without sorrow, grief, pain, and loss. The world has taught us so much to fear death while in fact, we must rejoice in it. For in death, we depart from our body and seek the home God has stored for us! In 2 Corinthians 5:6-8..
“Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord. For we live by faith, not by sight.We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord.
Death is sure to come. We may not know when but it is permanent in character, concrete in nature. No one can resist death. No matter how rich, young nor healthy you are, we will all come to it.
But remember, the bible also speaks of heaven and hell. When we die, we will be judged accordingly. We do not live in flesh just for the sake of it. We live because God has called us for a purpose. We live because we are bound to live the life He prepared for us.

“For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ. He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we may live together with him.Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

Jesus said to Martha..

“I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die;and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?”
Stop fearing death. Instead, prepare for the life after it. Let your family and friends know about the good news that death brings. So that one day, we will all see each other in His kingdom.

In Romans 8:38-39 it clearly says..
“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,<sup data-fn="#fen-NIV-28155a" data-link="[a]”> neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

It’s okay to mourn. I think it’s the most natural thing that earth equipped us to feel. But let us not forget that when we mourn, we also must celebrate. I am 100% sure that Agatha is now sitting on God’s lap talking to Him about what her experiences were. Oh, how I love seeing her this way! There will only be rejoicing and dancing and singing and playing and chocolates and doughnuts! 

Dear Angel Agatha, please tell God I have been good too and will always be. Tell Him I also want to sit on His lap one day and share Him stories about my family and friends here on earth. I know there are many rooms there but I want mine to be in pink and white. I wish to hear His angels’ voices. I will sing with them in chorus! And when I die, please be there on the door waiting for me. I will hug you as tight as I can. It will not cause pain to you anymore. No more crying. No more bruises nor melting of skin. No more dying. 

Leave a Reply

