God · Personal · Real Life Series

Real Life Series: The Good in Losing


I have once read an article/blog that impliedly says, make your goals visible to be attainable. This statement of mine is to make the long rephrasing short. It practically advises the readers to have a picture of your long-term goal/s and have it pasted somewhere conspicuous to have more drive in reaching it. That’s why last night, I had a hard time thinking of what to post on my wall near my studytable. I couldn’t think of any image to cut or draw or download from the internet related to it. Does it mean I don’t have goals in my life?

While getting to travel to popular places have been a constant thing in my bucketlist, it doesn’t necessarily mean that I’ll do everything to make it happen by hook or by crook. I am not in any way writing this just to calm myself down, in fact, I am trying to figure out what matters most to me. New gadgets, being popular in social media sites, becoming someone really famous, making a lot of money, have not crossed my mind. You may be thinking I am a hypocrite, but truth be told, my personal experiences have taught me about how to live well and be well.


When I was younger, I used to have two or three cellphones in hand, one for each mobile network. Be it globe, smart or sun, I had it all then. Until one day, my hard-earned phone (Nokia 3650) got pickpocketed from my bag while I was at SM Cubao’s restroom. I remember I had to work that summer while in college. Imagine my hands literally melted due to strong antibacterial content we used for washing rags in Greenwich. It was exhausting to work and study at the same time!


I cried and cried over my lost phone and it felt like the ending of the world for me. It took me almost 2 months to recover from the grief. My churchmates told me to just let go of it because it was just a cellphone. They’re right, but still..

The second time I lost two phones was my birthday. I came from a shoot and I was dead-tired then. I had to deal with my thesis defense the very same day too. I was on zombie-mode on my way to school when my bag got slashed inside the jeepney! I only found it out when I was about to take off the jeepney and my stuff inside my bag all dropped everywhere! Again, the same story. I cried and cried and cried over the lost phones. 

It got me more in pain when I suddenly realized that one of the lost phones was my sister’s. I phoned her and told her how sorry I was for forcing her to switch phones with me that day. I was expecting a scowling response from her but I was wrong. I was sooo wrong about her. She replied that it was okay and what’s more important was that I am okay and nothing happened to me. Of course, I cried agan. This time, not because of the lost phones but because I was thinking wrong about her. I was charged guilty.

Time has passed and I started to do away with the latest gadgets and trends. I honestly think that if I buy one, it could be gone by tomorrow. This time, I was right. And I consistently believe that I am right. As the bible says in Romans 12:2..

Do not conform<sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-NIV-28248A" data-link="(A)”> to the pattern of this world,<sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-NIV-28248B" data-link="(B)”> but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.<sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-NIV-28248C" data-link="(C)”> Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is<sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-NIV-28248D" data-link="(D)”>—his good, pleasing<sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-NIV-28248E" data-link="(E)”> and perfect will.

As I was told before, now I understand what they meant by “Okay lang yan, cellphone lang yan.”

It was a hard reminder for me that everything in this world is temporary. In a blink of an eye, anything could be lost. Only one thing remains to be permanent. And that is Salvation. Romans 8:38 states..

For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers,   nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing will have the power to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord!

Indeed, Salvation is free for all those who want it. Ofcourse we all have to work hard for it still. But do not forget that the return of hardwork produces endurance. And this is the only thing that cannot be taken from us. Romans 10:9..

If you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.  With the heart one believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth one confesses, resulting in salvation.
Taken from God Vine: Salvation is the most important gift you will ever receive. Becoming a Christian through the free gift of salvation lets you not only live a more peaceful life here on earth but an eternal life in heaven. Accepting Jesus as your Lord and Savior is the best decision you’ll ever make. There are a lot of people in this world who do not believe in Christian Salvation – but don’t let their negativity affect your joy.
Leave a Reply

