Marriage · Personal · Relationships ♥

On Budgeting and Managing




Last night, the BF and I were talking about budget and how we are going to deal with our shares once we get married.

(For those of you who do not know, I am a budget sap. The first day I set foot in law school, money has become a concern for me. I work full-time in one of the largest BPOs in the country – in a banking institution, so to speak. I consider myself as a big time earner compared to a regular employee whose salary is more or less than the average. The point is, I suppose to have bulk of extra money on different bank accounts, but apparently, it’s not. Given my family’s financial situation, I have to support them in any way possible. I still pay for the bills in the house. And since I am into law school, which gives my pocket a burst of pain, I need to cover for my own tuition fee and books and other expenses. Do you have any idea how much law school education is? OMG. You wouldn’t dare entering into if your heart isn’t ready.)
Skipping the segue and moving forward to the BF and I talking…
I felt nauseous when he brought that topic to the table while we were having our dinner. My heart skipped a beat. I was not expecting that all of the timings in the world, he chose to tell me that when I was actually suffering from being overdrawn. That day when I was not able to pay for my rent, my bank account was in zero and my wallet had only 100 pesos in it and my salary was not to be deposited until the next day.. It was beyond pressure on me.

And then I was thinking, “how on earth should I be able to budget our money once we get married?”. This question has been in my mind’s parking space since…

In Corinthians 4:2, it says..

“Moreover, it is required of stewards that they be found trustworthy.” 

This reminds me that in times I am not sufficient, HE, our God, is able. Worrying is not designed for believers like us. We are equipped to do big things on earth, to make a difference, to stand out in the middle of the crowd.

God has entrusted us the world so much that He allows us to manage his creation. We are made to be stewards, his watchmen.

While I am given the task to watch over our money, I will keep it and handle it as God’s steward. I will be my house’s keeper, and my husband’s trustworthy lover.

I resent the fear of budgeting and I claim victory over it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

