Relationships ♥

Let there be FRIENDS!




I was looking outside the window when tears fell through my cheeks. I was supposed to write an article during a journalism contest in another school when I was in Grade 4. I can hardly see what I was writing on my journal. My eyes were filled with water. It was really hard for me to carry on with the contest. I could no longer remember why I was crying that day. The only thing I am sure of is that I was about to make an article for the “Feature Writing” part.
Out of this emotion, I finally came up with the idea of writing about friendship. This made me cry again while I was trying to scribble my pen through my journal. My stomach was turning upside down. My hands got numbed. And then after a few minutes, I started to put my pen into the paper. And then I realized, I was writing about a friend, my bestfriend.
On my younger days, I always find myself thinking about how to get many friends than the others. It was so important to me that I forgot to take care of the person who loved me as her bestfriend. And then, I’ve lost her. I traded her for a bunch of people who I didn’t even share my stories with. I was so heart-broken. And I’m sure, she was too.
At the end of the contest, I was announced to be the 3rd placer for feature writing. I had no one to brag this win about. I had no one beside me. She’s gone.
Growing up, I thought that I needed to surround myself with great people– That I needed to receive many gifts from many friends. That I needed more than one ear to listen to me. That I needed more than one heart to love and understand me. The Scripture says in Ecclesiastes 4:9-11:
“Two are better than one because they have a good return for their labor. For if either of them falls, the one will lift up his companion. But woe to the one who falls when there is not another to lift him up. Furthermore, if two lie down together they keep warm, but how can one be warm alone?”
As I get older, I realized that I was not right.  I do not need a bunch of people who do not even understand my feelings. I do not need friends who do not honor God.
Of course we need companion. As a human being, we need someone to care for us. We need someone to lift us when we stumble. Proverbs 13:20 says:
“He who walks with wise men will be wise, but the companion of fools will suffer harm.”
It is sometimes through our friends that God talks to us. It their wisdom and discernment that will guide us through the path of righteousness. It is them who will make us realize that everything works together for the Lord.  
Do not be deceived: “Bad company corrupts good morals.” – 1 Corinthians 15:33








Leave a Reply

